Vietnamese-Style Vegetarian Fresh Rolls

Today I decided I wanted to make a vegetarian meal without cooking anything but I am avoiding just making simple salads for this learning project.

I love Vietnamese-style food, especially dishes made with rice vermicelli noodles.  Vietnamese fresh rolls (some call them summer rolls) are so easily suited to an individual’s personal preferences when it comes to vegetables.  In many Vietnamese restaurants, fresh rolls are made with either pork or shrimp and vegetables.  It is easy to eliminate meat from these and choose what you want to include in the rolls.

There are plenty of recipes online with suggested fillings for the fresh rolls – I decided to choose which vegetables I wanted to include but referenced both Minimalist Baker’s recipe and Food Network’s recipe.  I made quite a few alterations to suit my taste- no tofu, no mushrooms, no cilantro, and I decided to make my own sauce.

First, I got together all the ingredients I wanted to use in my fresh rolls:

fresh3

I had two different kinds of rice vermicelli but decided I would use the brown rice noodles for this recipe – you can get these at most grocery stores.  I also found two different sizes/shapes of rice paper – I used the round rice paper for this recipe but it does not make a difference in the end.

fresh1 fresh2

I then had to chop up all the vegetables – I chopped most of them into thin, long slices and shredded the carrot.  For the noodles, I boiled water in kettle and poured over the noodles in a large bowl.  I let them soak for 5-10 minutes before rinsing thoroughly with cold water.  I picked from fresh basil from the garden and bought some mint to add as well.

fresh4 fresh5 fresh6  fresh8

For the sauce, I mixed together peanut butter (you can use natural peanut butter for a more health-conscious sauce), hoisin sauce (one of the best ingredients ever), rice vinegar, soya sauce, sesame oil, lime, sambal oelek, chopped peanuts,and water.

fresh7   fresh10

For the vegetables, I used celery, cucumber, iceberg lettuce, yellow bell pepper, carrots, bean sprouts, basil, and mint.  Some people like cilantro but all I taste is soap from that herb!

fresh11   fresh9

Once all this was done, I heated up some water in a pan on the stove.  I then dipped the rice paper, each end, into the water for 10-20 seconds (until softened) and then lay it down on the cutting board to begin filling and rolling.

fresh12 fresh13 fresh14 fresh15 fresh16 fresh18 fresh19 fresh20

Very easy and tasty on a hot summer day!  With so many options to choose which fillings you want to include, these fresh rolls can easily be vegetarian or not, gluten-free, vegan, etc.

For some step-by-step instructions on how to roll the fresh roll, check out this video I found on YouTube-

2 thoughts on “Vietnamese-Style Vegetarian Fresh Rolls

  1. Yum! These are an absolute fav of mine thank you for posting the recipie and step by step! Can’t wait to try this! Going to snack so hard! Keep up the delicious work!

    Like

  2. These look so delicious! Great job on finding different ways to eat vegetarian than just salad. I am excited to see what other foods you come up with to make!

    Like

Leave a Reply

